Lotus blooms in Himachal Pradesh

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shimla, May 16: The Bharatiya Janata Party is ahead in all the four parliamentary constituencies in Himachal Pradesh.The four seats includes Shimla, Mandi, Hamirpur and Kangra. The main two political parties which lead the contest were Congress and BJP which included 31 candidates and 9 independents in the fray.

Virbhadra Singh of congress and Maheshwar Singh of BJP contested in Mandi. This constituency saw the maximum voter turnout of 64 pc.

The Congress fielded sitting MPs Dhani Ram Shandil and Chander Kumar in Shimla and Kangra respectively against the BJP's Virender Kashyap and Rajan Sushant.

In Hamirpur, the Congress has fielded BJP rebel Narinder Thakur against the BJP's sitting MP Anurag Thakur.
The Congress had won three seats in the 2004 general elections, while the BJP had one.


Please Wait while comments are loading...