Campaigning for second phase of Lok Sabha elections ends today

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, April 21 (ANI): Campaigning for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections will come to an end on Tuesday.

The polling will be held on April 23.

In the second phase, the election will be held in 141 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 13 states and Union Territories. The elections would also be completed in the state assemblies of Andhra Pradesh (140 seats) and Orissa (77 seats).

The states going to the polls in this phase include Andhra Pradesh (20 seats), Assam (11), Bihar (13), Goa (2), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Karnataka (17), Madhya Pradesh (13), Maharashtra (25), Manipur (1), Orissa (11), Tripura (2), Uttar Pradesh (17) and Jharkhand (8).

The prominent leaders contesting in the second phase include Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan, LJP leader and noted film-maker Prakash Jha, former JD-U leader and now an Independent candidate from Muzaffarpur (Bihar) George Fernandes, NCP supremo and Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar and senior Congress leader and Union Energy Minister Sushil kumar Shinde from the newly carved Madha and Solapur (city) Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

One Parliamentary seat in Manipur that falls under this phase will, as an exception, witness voting on April 22. Campaigning here ended on Monday itself.

Polling has already been completed in 124 seats in the first phase on April 16.

The 15th Lok Sabha elections will take place in five phases on April 16, 22, 23, 30 and May 7 and 13 throughout the country. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...