Delhi, Jaipur dropped as IPL venues

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Mar 18: New Delhi, Jaipur and Visakhapatnam have been dropped as venues in the latest revised schedule for the second edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The three centres were left out because of an inability of the state governments to provide security to the matches scheduled there.

Nine venues in eight cities have been given the clearance by the respective state governments, with Mumbai hosting matches at the Brabourne and DY Patil stadiums.

So, IPL-II will be held in Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mohali and the two new venues.

The sources said that the new schedule has taken into consideration the security constraints of all the state governments and has been prepared in such a way that it could not hinder the election process.

The latest move means Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils will lose out their home advantage, and will have to play their 'home" games in other cities.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...