DMK re-elects MK as President, Stalin as treasurer

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Dec 27: M Karunanidhi, the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister was elected unanimously as Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) President on Saturday, Dec 27 at the party's General Council meeting in Chennai. This is the 10th consecutive time Karunanidhi is being elected as DMK President.

DMK 'General Council' which is the policy making body of the party met at the party headquarters 'Anna Arivalayam' to elect the new President. G M Shah the party election officer
said that 41 sets of nominations proposed by district secretaries were filed on behalf of the present TN Chief Minister.

For the eight time K Anbazhagan, the TN Finance Minister was re-elected as General Secretary. M K Stalin, son of Karunanidhi was also elected unanimously as party Treasurer, which is the No.3 position in the party.

For Stalin the new post came as one step higher in the party ladder of hierarchy. Arcot n Veerasamy, the treasurer of DMK and a close aid of Karunanidhi, nominated Stalin for the

Stalin began his political career by forming a youth wing of DMK in his Gopalapuram area in 1969. Electricity Minister Veerasamy was nominated as Headquarters Principal Secretary,
a newly created post.

Dinamurugan, the Public Works Minister,Information Minister Parithi Ilamvazhuthi, former Minister Sarguna Pandian as Deputy General Secretaries of the party. TKS Elangovan was
nominated as the Organising Secretary.

The General Council elected Kasinathan, Kuzhandai Velu, L Balaraman and Suba Sitharaman as Audit Committee members. Meanwhile in contrary to the expectations, Karunanidhi's
elder son M K Azhagiri was not appointed to any key post of the party.

OneIndia News (With inputs from Agencies)


Please Wait while comments are loading...