Polling begins for Karnataka by-elections

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Dec 27: On Saturday, Dec 27 polling started in 8 constituencies for the by-elections to the Karnataka Assembly amid high security. Polling began at 7 am in Hukkeri, Arabhavi, Devadurga, Karwar, Turuvekera, Madhugiri, Doddaballapur and Maddur constituencies. More than 9,500 security personnels are deployed in these areas.

This by-poll will decide the fate of 7 candidates, including the state ministers like Balachandra Jarakiholi, Anand Asnotikar, K Shivanagowda Naik, Umesh Katti, and Anita, wife of former Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy. She is making her debut into politics with this elections.

Widow of JD(S) leader M S Siddaraju, whose death caused the by-election in Maddur, is banking upon the sympathy factor for her maiden entry into the state assembly in this
constituency in Cauvery heartland.

The defection of MLAs (three Congress and Four JDS) to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and death of Siddaraju led to the by-elections in Karnataka.

13.69 electorate will also decide the poll fortune of former minister C Chennigappa in Madhugiri, who is contesting against Anita Kumaraswamy, Congress MP R L Jalappa's son J
Narasimhaswamy in Doddaballapur and D C Thammanna.

The Election Commission was forced to deploy 2 EVMs (Electronic Voting Machines) in Madhugiri where 25 candidates are contesting. Counting of votes will take place on Dec 30.

OneIndia News (With inputs from Agencies)



Please Wait while comments are loading...