Final phase of Jammu Kashmir polls begin

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Dec 24: The seventh and final phase of Jammu Kashmir elections will be held on Wednesday, Dec 24 amid tight security. The polls will be conducted for 21 constituencies.

"The voter turn-out was low this morning due to chilly conditions. However, polling staff and security personnel took up their positions at 1,872 polling booths by 7.30 am," an official source said.

This final phase will decide the fate of 393 candidates, including former Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah, former Speaker Tara Chand, two sitting MPs, six former ministers and four ministers of state. The main highlight of this election is the women contestants. There are 31 women candidates and 151 independents.

As many as 70,000 personnel of Central security forces have been deployed in and around the polling booths set up for over 16.91-lakh electorate, including 8,22,671 women voters in Srinagar, Jammu and Samba districts.

Farooq Abdullah is contesting from two constituencies -- Hazratbal and Sonawar.

Jammu-West constituency has highest number of candidates -- 34. It is followed by 29 in Amirakadal, 27 in Bishnah, 26 in Sonawar, 25 in Nagrota, 21 each in Habbakadal and Akhnoor, 20 in Jammu-East, 19 each in Vijaypur and Suchetgarh, 18 each in Batmaloo and Hazratbal, 17 in Gandhinagar, 16 in Zadibal, 15 in Marh, 14 each in Idgah and R S Pura, 12 in Samba, 11 Raipur-domina, 10 in Khanyar and seven in Chhamb.

Srinagar District Election Officer Mehraj Ahmad Kakroo said that the administration has taken various measures to prevent impersonation, bogus voting and disruption in poll process.

OneIndia News (With inputs from Agencies)

Please Wait while comments are loading...