Delhi's new Legislative Assembly kicks off

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 18: Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and other elected members of the Assembly will attend the first session of the Delhi's New Legislative Assembly on Thursday, Dec 18.

The oath of membership will be administered by Pro- term Speaker Jagdish Mukhi.
The election of Speaker will be held on Dec 19. On Dec 22 Lieutenant Governor Tejinder Khanna will deliver his address. On the last day of session on December 23, a Motion of Thanks for Lieutenant Governor's address will be moved in the House.

Sheila Dikshit was sworn-in as Chief Minister of Delhi for the third consecutive term on Wednesday, Dec 17. Ministers in the previous Cabinet A K Walia, Mangat Ram Singhal, Haroon Yusuf, Rajkumar Chauhan and Arvinder Singh Lovely along with the new face Kiran Walia also took oath.

The Congress won 42 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly while the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had to be content with 23 seats.


Please Wait while comments are loading...