Only 10 MPs pay tribute to Parliament attack martyrs

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi. Dec 13: Seven years before it was this day Indian Parliament was attacked by terrorists. But many of our politicians seem to have forgotten the contribution made by those heros as only ten MPs turned out to pay homage to those seven martyers who laid down their lives trying to defend the custodian of the country's polity.

Bloody memories of 2001 Parliament attack came alive on Saturday, Dec 13 at a function to mark the martyrdom of the security personnel who laid down their lives to save the symbol of democracy. Somnath Chatterjee, the Lok Sabha Speaker, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, L K Advani, leader of Opposition, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and other senior leaders of various political parties offered floral tributes.

The widow and son of Ghanshyam Singh of Delhi Police were among others who offered flowers at the plaque put up on the spot of the encounter with the terrorists on December 13, 2001.

"Mumbai terror attacks is not a solitary incident, but part of a war unleashed by terrorists two decades back," said Advani to media. He added, "The government must give a befitting reply to such attacks." He said that whole world was looking forward to India, to see how the resolution to fight terrorism recently adopted unanimously in Parliament being implemented.

On Friday, Dec 11 both the houses of the Parliament paid tributes to martyrs and recalled the prime sacrifice by the security personnel in foiling the attempt of the terrorists.

One woman constable of CRPF, 5 security personnel of Delhi police and two security assistants of Parliament Watch and Ward section died in preventing the entry of terrorists into Parliament House. A photojournalist and a gardener too lost their lives in the incident.

OneIndia News (With inputs from Agencies)



Please Wait while comments are loading...