UP defeats Maharashtra by 8 wickets in Ranji

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kanpur, Nov 26 (UNI) Hosts Uttar Pradesh registered their maiden outright win in this domestic season, crushing Mahrashtra by eight wickets today on the final day of their four-day Ranji Trophy Group 'B' Super League match played at the Green Park Stadium here.

Gaining five points from the win, UP managed to keep hopes alive for a berth in the knock out stage this season with 11 points from four outings so far.

Needing 137 for victory, UP scored the required runs losing only two wickets. Mantaining his good form this season, young Tanmay Srivastava,who had hit a brilliant 154 against Andhra Pradesh, scored a fluent unbeaten 65 off 95 balls while Parvinder hit second half century of the match in the process.

Resuming on their overnight score of 199 for seven, Maharashtra 's second innings folded up at 230 leaving UP to score 137 runs in the remaining 75 overs. In fact, the UP spinners took just 36 minutes to wrap up Maharashtra's second innings.

UP skipper Mohammad Kaif was an elated person after the win saying '' The outright win came at the very right moment. In fact, we needed an outright win at this stage.''.

Attributing the win to a perfect team effort, Kaif had a special word of appreciation for opener Shivakant,who scored a brilliant century in the first innings. Orthodox spinner Praveen Gupta finished with a match haul of 95/5.

Uttar Pradesh with 11 points will now take on Railways (9 pts) in their fifth round match at Karnail Singh Stadium in New Delhi from November 29, while Maharashtra meet Baroda at Vadodara also from November 29.

SCOREBOARD: Maharashtra (1st innings): 221.

UP (1st innings): 315.

Maharashtra (2nd innings): H Khadiwale c RP Singh b B Kumar 26 R Bhosale c Mohd A Khan b I Ahmed 31 A Shrikhande b B Kumar 4 K Jadhav c T Srivastava b P Gupta 65 N Pradhkar b I Ahmed 0 D Silamkar b P Gupta 56 R Motwani b P Chawla 0 D Waghmare c T Srivastava b P Gupta 6 M Mangela c P Gupta b P Chawla 15 E Haque (jr) b P Chawla 3 S Fallah not out 4 Extras (b11, lb7, nb2) 20 Total (all out in 88.3overs) 230 Fall of wickets: 1-42, 2-50, 3-94, 4-96, 5-195, 6-196, 7-196, 8-204, 9-219, 10-230.

Bowling: RP Singh 19-1-61-0 B Kumar 14-3-20 I Ahmed 11-2-22-2 P Gupta 21-6-55-3 P Chawla 21.3-6-42-3 Mohd Kaif 2-0-2-0.

UP (2nd innings): S Shukla lbw S Fallah 6 T Srivastava not out 65 P Singh c K Jadhav b D Shilamkar 60 B Kumar not out 0 Extras (b8, nb1)5 Total (for 2 wkts in 36.5 overs) 140 Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-136.

Bowling: S Fallah 12.5-3-39-1 M Mangela 6-3-13-0 E Haque (jr) 2-0-18-0 H Khadiwale 2-0-8-0 D Waghmare 5-0-20-0 N Pradhkar 4-0-15-0 D Shilamkar 5-0-19-1.


Please Wait while comments are loading...