National Sub-Junior Table Tennis begins tomorrow

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Vijayawada, Nov 23 (UNI) All arrangements had been completed in the city to host the 70th National Sub-Junior Table Tennis Championship 2008, which will begin from tomorrow at DRMC indoor stadium, Andhra Pradesh Table Tennis Association Secretary S M Sultan said today.

Addressing a press conference here, he said over 600 players from across the state had sent their entries and 26 state teams had arrived.

Prominent Sub-Junior players like Rajib Sarkar (NB), Dev Datta Phadnavis, Sandeepam De (WB), Diresh Gupta (DLI) and Abhisek Yadav (PSPB) would take part in the boys section. In the girls section Mallika Bhandarkar(MHR) and Somali Sarkar (WB) had confirmed their entry, he added.

Chief refree of the event Ganeshan (Kerala), who was deputed by the federation to officiating the event, said the team championship would be held from November 24 to November 27 and individual events would be held from November 27 to November 29.

He said the team championship and individual games would be conducted in two stages.

In team championship, all the teams would be drawn into eight groups as per the last National position and play one another in a round robin league system to determine the position in each group in stage one.


Please Wait while comments are loading...