Notification issued for sixth phase of polls in J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jammu, Nov 22 (UNI) Election notification for the five districts of Jammu and Kashmir going to polls in sixth phase of Assembly elections on December 17 was issued today.

As many as 16 Assembly constituencies in five districts of Kulgam, Anantnag, Kishtwar, Doda and Ramban with 1,165,409 electorate, including 5,62,286 female voters, will to polls in the second last phase of assembly elections.

While three districts of Kishtwar, Doda and Ramban fall in Jammu division, Kulgam and Anantnag are in Kashmir division.

November 29 will be the last date for filing of nominations and their scrutiny will take place on December 1.

December 3 would be the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

The constituencies which go to polls in Kashmir division include Noorabad, Kulgam, Home-Shalibugh and Devsar of Kulgam district and Anantnag, Doru, Kokernag, Shangus, Bijbehara and Pahalgam of Anantnag district.

Meanwhile in Jammu division, Kishtwar and Indarwal assembly constituencies of Kishtwar, Doda and Bhaderwah of Doda district and Ramban and Banihal of Ramban district will go to polls.

The total electorate that would vote in sixth phase also includes 2,521 service electors.

As many as 1,268 polling stations would be established across these 16 constituencies for the sixth phase of polls. Of these, 282 would be in Kulgam, 427 in Anantnag, 187 in Kishtwar, 206 in Doda and 166 in Ramban district.

In Kulgam district, there are 283,801 electors, including 136,291 female voters. Around 68 service voters are also expected to exercise their franchise in the district.

In the adjoining Anantnag district, a total of 4,20,666 voters, including 2,03,288 female, are expected to exercise their franchise in Anantnag, Doru, Kokernag, Shangas, Bijbehara and Pahalgam Assembly constituencies.

At least 187 polling stations would be established for 144,455 voters, 70,141 female, in Kishtwar and Inderwal assembly constituencies of Kishtwar district that falls in Jammu division.

In the two Assembly constituencies of Doda and Bhadarwah in Doda district, there are 168,240 electors. Out of total 206 polling stations in the district, 112 would be established in Bhadarwah and 94 in Doda.

As many as 148,247 electors, including 70,669 female voters, would use their right to franchise in two constituencies of Ramban district -- Ramban and Banihal.

Out of total 166 polling stations, 90 will be set up in Ramban and 76 in Banihal Assembly constituency.


Please Wait while comments are loading...