Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Nov 21 (UNI) President of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Mehbooba Mufti will contest from Wachi constituency, in south Kashmir, going to polls in the fifth of seven-phase elections in the Jammu and Kashmir on December 13.

The name of Mehbooba, Member of Parliament from Anantnag-Pulwama constituecy, was cleared by the PDP Parliamentary Affairs Committee, (PAC), a spokesman of the party said today.

He said the names of other leaders recommended by the PAC and cleared by Ms Mehbooba included Syed Bashir Ahmad for Rajpora, Mohammad Khalil Bandh for Pulwama, Zahoor Ahmad Mir for Pampore, Abdul Razak Zawoora for Shopian and Abdul Hameed Bhat (Kohsheen) for Habakadal Assembly segments.

Ms Mehbooba before being elected as MP, won from Pahalgam Assembly segment in 2002 defeating her nearest National Conference (NC) rival Rafi Ahmad Mir.


Please Wait while comments are loading...