Leaders of BJP, RLD, BSP, Rashtravadi cong join Cong

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 18 (UNI) In a shot in the arm for the Congress just before the Assembly elections to Delhi, leaders of major political parties like the BJP, the BSP, the Rashtriya Lok Dal and the Rashtravadi Congress Party today joined the party.

Those who joined the Congress at the office of the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee, in the presence of DPCC president Jai Prakash Agarwal, were BJP's Delhi Pradesh Kisan Morcha vice-president Jog Raj, RLD national secretary Rattan Singh Gujjar, BSP's Delhi Pradesh Bhaichara Banao Committee's Vikas Gupta and BSP Mahila Morcha president Vinod Kumari and Rashtravadi Congress Party vice-president Satya Narayan Jha.

Welcoming the leaders to the Congress fold, DPCC president Jai Prakash Agarwal, MP, said this was an important political development at the most appropriate time. The Congress faced no challenge in Delhi, as the party had always understood the difficulties of the people and had solved their problems to make their lives better.

Addressing the mediapersons here, these leaders said, ''In the present circumstances, only the dynamic leadership of Congress president and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, could ensure a bright future for the country.'' They promised to fan out among the people and popularise the policies and programmes of the Congress to enlighten the voters, and ensure the victory of the Congress candidates.

Mr Jog Raj, hailing from Gandhi Nagar in the trans-Yamuna area, promised to work for the victory of sitting Congress MLA and Delhi Minister Arvinder Singh Lovely while Rashtriya Loka Dal's Rattan Singh Gujjar promised to support and help the sitting MLA, former DPCC president and Congress candidate from the Rohtas Nagar Assembly constituency Ram Babu Sharma to get elected with a thumping majority.

Rashtravadi Congress Party's Rajkumari Dhillon said she and her supporters would fully back the Congress candidate from Hari Nagar Ramesh Lamba and ensure her victory in the Assembly election.

Besides Mr Agarwal, those who were present at the press conference, included Delhi Education Minister Arvinder Singh Lovely and Rohtas Nagar MLA and Congress candidate Ram Babu Sharma.


Please Wait while comments are loading...