All arrangments made for free, fair, peaceful polls in J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Nov 16 (UNI) All arrangements have been made to ensure free, fair and peaceful polling tomorrow in ten assembly segments in the first phase of elections in Jammu and Kashmir.

The poll staff and other material have already reached their respective destinations. Helicopters were also used to take the poll staff and material to some cut off areas in Gurez assembly segment and in Ladakh region.

A polling station was set up for only five voters in Leh constituency, which is the smallest booth in the state.

The constituencies going to polls in the first phase tomorrow in the seven- stage elections in the state, included Gurez, Bandipora and Sonawari in Kashmir valley, Leh, Kargil, Zanaskar and Nobra in Ladakh and Surankote, Mendhar, Poonch-Haveli in Jammu region.

In the Bandipora assembly segments, 10 candidates are in fray. However, the main contest will be between Mr Nizam Uddin Bhat of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mohammad Iqbal Jan of National Conference, (NC) Ghulam Mohiuddin Bhat of Awami National Conference, Independent Usman Majeed and Mohammad Abdullah Wani of Peoples Democratic Front.

A strong hold of NC, the constituency was represented by it since 1977 after the party started taking part in the polls following Indira-Sheikh accord in 1975.

However, Bandipora was represented by Abdul Kabir Khan in 1957 and 1962 who fought on the ticket of NC, headed by former Prime Minister Bakshi Ghulam Mohammad.

Mr Mohammad Anwar Khan of the Congress won the 1967 and 1972 Assembly elections. In 1977 and 1983, NC candidate Mr Mohammad Khalil was declared elected from this constituency. In 1987 and 1996 Assembly elections, Bandipora constituency was represented by Mr Ghulam Rasool Mir of the NC.

During the last polls former militant leader turned politician Usman Majeed won from this constituency in 2002.


Please Wait while comments are loading...