Olympian Dinesh moves into quarter-finals

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Nov 15 (UNI) Beijing Olympian Dinesh Kumar moved into the quarter-finals in the 81 to 91 kg category as his rival Sushil gave a walkover in the boxing competitions of the 22nd Haryana State Games being held at the Moti Lal Nehru Sports School at Rai in Sonepat district.

Warangal National silver medalist Karamvir of Hisar proved too good for Sandeep of Haryana Police whom he outscored by unanimous decision in the 57 to 60 kg class prequarter-final bout.

There was a solitary knockout decision today as Pawan of Bhiwani lashed powerful left-and-right combination to floor Vijender of Jind in the second round in the 54 to 57 kg category.

Vijay of Sonepat took just 50 seconds to dispose of the challenge of Abhimanyu of Panchkula in 60 to 64 kg category. The referee stopped the bout to avoid further punishment to the Jind boxer in the first round.

Meanwhile, Rashmi of Karnal, Pinki of Hisar, Anu Verma of Gurgaon and Taruna of Sirsa stormed into the women semi-finals in the 50-52 kg categories.

In quarter-final bout, Rashmi walked ove Ritu (Panipat) while Pinki scored a RSC verdict against Rashmi of Yamunanagar. Anu Verma also won by RSC verdict againg Pooja of Yamunanagar while Taruna defeated Shobna of Rewari on unanimous decision.

Results (Men): 48 to 51 kg: Amit (Hisar) bt Monu (Sonepat) on pts 4-1, Manjit (MNS Rai) bt Jitender (Gurgaon) on unanimous decision, Sunil (Kaital) bt Naveen (Jind) on pts 3-2.

51 to 54 kg: Vikas (Jind) bt Sumit (Pkl) RSC third round, Jasbir (Faridabad) bt Bhupender (Gurgaon) RSC 2nd round, Kuldeep (Ktl)( bt Jitender (Rewari) RSC Ist round, Naveen (MNSS Rai) bt Manoj (Yamunanagar) on pts 3-2, Amit (Bhiwani) bt Sunil (Hisar) bt on pts 3-2.

54 to 57 kg: Pawan (Bhw) bt Vijender (Jind) ko 2nd round, Manoj (Ambala) bt Chunky (GGN) unanimous decision, Dhiraj (Rtk) bt Bhawan (Yamunangar) RSC Ist round, Narinder (HP) bt Bhim Pandey (Pkl) RSC on Ist round, Karantivir (Hsr) bt Kaldeep (Rewari) on pts 4-1.

57 to 60 kg: Balwinder (Ambala) bt Tarsem (Jind) unanimous decision, Parveen (Bhw) bt Mandeep (Rtk) on pts 3-2, Vivekanand (Rwr) bt Anil (GGN) unanimous decision, Palwinder (Ftb) w/o Neeraj (Yng), Karamvir (Hsr) bt Sandeep (Haryana Police) unanimous decision.

60 to 64 kg: Sanjeet (Bhw) bt Karamjit (Jind) unanimous decision, Neeraj (Abl) bt Jasbir (Rtk) unanimous decision, Vijay (Sonepat) bt Abhimanyu (Pkl) RSC Ist round).

Women (quater finals): Jyoti (Rohtak) bt Sonia (Jind) RSC Ist round, Kanchan (Gurgaon) bt Kanika (Ambala) RSC Ist round, Monika (Sirsa) bt Pooja (Yamunangar) RSC Ist round, Ritu Ranga (Hisar) bt Aliya (Rewari) unanimous decision.

48-50 kg: Dhati (Hisar) bt Kaplana (Haryana Police) unanimous decision, Juli (Gurgaon) bt Rupali (Ambala) unanimous decision, Neelam (Sirsa) bt Parvesh (Rohtak) on pts 4-1, Priyana (Rewari) bt Poonam (Karnal) RSC.


Please Wait while comments are loading...