Sheila Dikshit files nomination; 186 file papers on penultimate day

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 10 (UNI) The penultimate day of filing of nominations for the November 29 Delhi Assembly polls today saw several bigwigs on the political scene, including Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and Delhi BJP chief Harshvardhan filing their papers.

Congress nominee from the New Delhi Assembly Constituency Sheila Dikshit today filed her nomination for the November 29 State Assembly polls, calling upon the people of Delhi to elect the party for the third consecutive term.

Speaking to mediapersons after filing her nomination papers at Jamnagar Election Office, Ms Dikshit, who was accompanied by her family members and DPCC President, Jai Prakash Aggarwal, stated that to continue the process of overall development of the city, people should elect the Congress for the third time because ''our Party has always stood for the welfare of the poor and downtrodden.'' Prominent among others who filed their nomination papers today are Delhi Finance Minister A K Walia (Laxmi Nagar), Education Minister Arvinder Singh Lovely(Gandhi Nagar), Transport Minister Haroon Yusuf (Ballimaran), Speaker Prem Singh (Ambedkar Nagar) and sitting MLA Kiran Walia (Malaviya Nagar).

BJP leaders who filed their nominations are Delhi unit president Harshvardhan (Krishna Nagar), Praveen Khadelwal (Chandni Chowk) and Ram Bhaj (Malviya Nagar).

With tomorrow being the last date for filing of nominations, there was a huge rush for filing of papers.

A total of 186 nomination papers were filed from five districts of Delhi. While 32 nomination papers were filed from New Delhi district, 44 from East district, 13 from West district, 30 from Central district, 39 from North district and 28 from South district.

With today's nominations, a total of 379 nominations have been filed since the filing of paper began on November 4 with the issuance of notifications for the assembly polls.

The process of filing nominations was set off with issuance of notification for the polls on November 4.

As per the notification, November 11 has been fixed as the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of which will be done on November 12.

The last date for the withdrawal of candidatures is November 14.

Counting of votes will be done on December 8. The term of the present Legislative Assembly of Delhi is expiring on December 17.

The Opposition BJP has declared names of candidates for all 70 assembly seats while the ruling Congress has released a list of 48 candidates for the polls.


Please Wait while comments are loading...