Notification for 4th phase of Assembly polls issued in J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Nov 10 (UNI) Jammu and Kashmir Governor N N Vohra today issued notification for holding elections in 18 more assembly constituencies in the border state in the fourth phase of the seven- stage poll on December 7.

He has issued similar notification for holding elections in 31 of the 87- assembly segments in the first, second and third phases, which will go to polls on November 17, 23 and 30 respectively.

Mr Vohra, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by clause(b) of Sub-section (b) of section 53 of the constitution of Jammu and Kashmir had dissolved the Legislative Assembly on July 10, 2008 after Ghulam Nabi Azad-headed Congress coalition government was reduced to minority following the withdrawal of support by the Peoples Democratic party (PDP) on Shri Amarnath shrine Land issue.

The Governor, in exercise of powers vested in him under Jammu and Kashmir Representation of People Act, 1957 and as recommended by the Election Commission of India (ECI), has issued the notification for holding the elections in 5 constituencies in the third phase, an official spokesman said here.

The constituencies going to polls on December 7 are Uri, Rafiabad, Sopore, Sangrama, Baramulla, Gulmarg, Pattan, Chadoora, Badgam, Khansahib and Charar-e-Sharief in the Kashmir valley and Gulabgarh, Reasi, Gol Arnas, Udhampur, Chanani and Ramnagar in Jammu regioin.

While November 17 will be the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of the papers will be held on November 18 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 20 and polls will be held on December 7.

In the first phase Gurez, Sonawari and Bandipora in north Kashmir, Nobra, Leh, Kargil and Zanskar in Ladakh region and Surankote, Mendhar and Poonch-Haveli in Poonch district will go to polls on November 17. While in the second phase Kangan, Ganderbal, Nowshera, Darhal, Rajouri and Kalakote going to polls on November 23. Karnah, Kupwara, Lolab, Handwara and Langate will go to polls on November 30 in the third phase.

The ECI, after holding several rounds of talks with the national and local political parties, besides top brass of the security agencies, announced seven-phase poll schedule for Jammu and Kashmir on October 19.

All the mainstream political parties have agreed to join the democratic process while the Awami National Conference (ANC) is contesting the polls for the first time since 1987.


Please Wait while comments are loading...