UP to go all out against Vadodara to break jinx of defeat

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Vadodara, Nov 9 (UNI) An absorbing contest is on the cards when hosts Vadodara take on last year's runners-up Uttar Pradesh in their opening Ranji Trophy Super League match, commencing at the Motibaug Palace Ground here tomorrow.

With their confidence high after an all-round performance in their league opener against Andhra Pradesh, Mohammad Kaif-led Uttar Pradesh will certainly go all out against Vadodara, which has thrashed them in the last four consecutive seasons in the round robin league stage.

Similarly, Vadodara skipper-opener Connor Williams is also looking forward to start the side's campaign in the new season with a winning note, and lead the side to the finals of the championship to break the jinx of losing in the semi-finals in the last three consecutive years.

Talking to mediapersons after a strenuous three-hour-long net practice at the Motibaug Ground, Vadodara skipper Williams, who would be opening the side's innings with Satyajit Parab, said medium pacers Ajitesh Argal and Sailesh Solanki would be making their Ranji debut in the absence of Munaf Patel and Yusuf Pathan, who had been selected in the Indian ODI squad against visiting England team. Left-arm seamer Irfan Pathan would spearhead the side's attack along with Irfan Pathan(sr).

In-form UP skipper Kaif, who hit 144 to enable his side pick up three points from their first match against Anadhra Pradesh at Meerut, hopes to put up their best against Vadodara with experienced Tanmay Srivastava, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar and Tahir Abbas, who has replaced Suresh Raina because of the latter's selection in team India.

Teams: Vadodara (from): Connor Williams (cap), Irfan Pathan, Satyajit Parab, Azhar Bilakhia, Rakesh Solanki, Shatrunjay Gaekwad, Rajesh Pawar, Pinal Shah (wk), Ketan Panchal, Irfan Pathan(sr), Salim Yusuf Veragi, Ajitesh Argal, Sailesh Solanki, Rubin Dalwadi and Utkarsh Patel.

Uttar Pradesh (from): Md Kaif (cap), Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Tahir Abbas, Praveen Gupta, Ansul Kapoor, Ravikant Shukla, Tanmay Srivastav, Md Aamir Khan, Shivakant Shukla, Ashish Yadav, Imtiaz Ahmed, Bhuvnesh Kumar, Sudeep Tyagi and Prashant Gupta.


Please Wait while comments are loading...