BJP's V K Malhotra, Mukhi among 110 nominations filed on 5th day

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 8 (UNI) The process of filing nominations for the November 29 Assembly polls in Delhi picked up further momentum today with BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate Vijay Kumar Malhotra and Leader of the Opposition in the present Assembly Jagdish Mukhi among a total of 110 candidates filing their nominations on the fifth day, the Delhi Election commission said.

The BJP's chief ministerial candidate for Delhi, Prof V K Malhotra filed his nomination papers from the Greater Kailash constituency for the Assembly elections.

He was accompanied by party colleagues Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, party state chief Harsh Vardhan and former Union Minister Vijay Goel, as he went to Jamnagar House on Shahjahan Road, to file his papers.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, his son Sukhbir Singh Badal, former Haryana Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala and Delhi Mayor Arti Mehra were also present on the occasion.

Also amomg those who filed their nominations today were Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly Jagdish Mukhi from Janak Puri assembly segment, BJP leaders Harsharan Singh Balli from Hari Nagar, O P Babbar from Tilak Nagar, Congress leaders Vijay Lochav from Bijwasan, Ashok Ahuja from Delhi Cantt and Akali Dal's Manjinder Singh Sirsa from Jangpura and Avtar Singh Hit from Rajouri Garden.

With today's nominations, the number of nominations filed since the start of the process on November 4 is 193.

The process of filing nominations was set off with issuance of notification for the polls on November 4.

As per the notification, November 11 has been fixed as the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of which will be done on November 12.

The last date for the withdrawal of candidatures is November 14.

Counting of votes will be done on December 8. The term of the present Legislative Assembly of Delhi is expiring on December 17.

The Opposition Bharatiya Janata Party has declared names of candidates for all 70 assembly seats while the ruling Congress has released a list of 48 candidates for the polls.


Please Wait while comments are loading...