MP: BJP fields seven fresh candidates from Sagar

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sagar (MP), Nov 3: In the wake of delimitation, defection and ticket distribution, the BJP has fielded seven fresh candidates from eight assembly seats in Sagar. Madhya Pradesh Minister of State for Public Works Department Kabirpanthi, who won the previous assembly election from Naryaoli with a margin of about 25,000 votes, has been denied ticket.

Sagar Mayor Pradeep Laria has been fielded from this seat.

Ms Sudha Jain, a three-time legislator, has been denied ticket and district BJP President Shailendra Jain fielded in her place.

With Deori legislator Ratan Singh defecting to Uma Bharti's Bharatiya Jan Shakti, the BJP has fielded Mr Bhanu Rana from Deori.

State BJP General Secretary Bhupendra Singh, who lost during previous assembly polls from Surkhi, has been fielded from Khurai.

Mr Singh had earlier announced he would not contest assembly polls.

Former Congress leader Rajendra Singh, who has joined the BJP, has been fielded from Surkhi.

A four-time legislator and former minister, Mr Harnam Singh Rathor, is firm on his decision to not contest. In his place, former legislator Shivraj Singh Lodhi's son Ramrakshapal Singh has been fielded from Banda seat.

The BJP has made Dr Vinodpanthi candidate from Bina seat following delimitation.

Agriculture Minister Gopal Bhargava would contest from Rehli seat for the sixth time.


Please Wait while comments are loading...