About 1,000 nominees in fray in Chhattisgarh phase 2

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Raipur, Nov 3 (UNI) About 1,000 candidates are in the fray for 51 assembly seats across eight districts of Chhattisgarh as the process for submitting nomination papers for the second and final phase ended today.

''The maximum 155 candidates submitted papers in Raipur distict today and the minimum 25 in Jashpur district,'' Deputy Electoral Officer Arvind Dixit told UNI here today. They included Congress MP and former chief minister Ajit Jogi, from Marwahi, and Bharatiya Janata Party state President Vishnudeo Sai from Pathalgaon.

Other nominees included former minister Rampukar Singh -- Pathalgaon, MLA Renu Jogi -- Kota, Assembly Deputy Speaker Badridhar Diwan -- Beltara, ex-speaker Dharamjit Singh -- Lormi and former home minister Nand Kumar Patel -- Kharsia.

Today's district-wise break-up was Bilaspur 108, Raipur 155, Jashpur 25, Koriya 39, Raigarh 51, Korba 57 and Janjgir Champa 52. A report was awaited from Surguja.

Scrutiny would take place tomorrow, November 6 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature, polling is scheduled for November 20 and counting on December 8.


Please Wait while comments are loading...