Delhi BJP finalises list of candidates for 57 seats

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 1 (UNI) The Delhi BJP today shortlisted names of candidates for 57 out of 70 constituencies.

It has already earmarked four seats for the Akali Dal.

The 20-member State Election Committee reached agreement on 57 names, though its meeting today witnessed acrimonious scenes. Party stalwart Vijay Goel and O P Kohli also staged a walk-out, following differences over certain nominations.

A decision on the rest of nine seats--Laxminagar, Seelampur, Mustafabad, Burari, Nangloi Jat, Sadar Bazar, Patparganj, Najafgarh and Trilokpuri--could not be taken as a large number of applications were received and a consensus could not be reached.

The names will now be sent to the party's Central Election Committee for its approval, party sources said.

The four seats left out for Akali Dal were Jungpura, Shahdara, Adarshnagar and Rajouri Garden.

BJP workers mainly from Okhla and Ambedkarnagar were also seen protesting outside the party office, shouting slogans against some nominations.


Please Wait while comments are loading...