Courts in Delhi to function in 9 civil districts from Nov 1

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 30 (UNI) Courts in Delhi shall start functioning in nine civil districts from November 1.

These are central, north, west, New Delhi, south, east, north-east, north-west and south-west.

While central, north and west districts shall function at Tiz Hazari, New Delhi and south shall function at the Patiala house courts, east and north-east will work at Karkardooma courts, North-west at Rohini complex and south-west at the Dwarka complex.

Pending cases under Land Acquisition Act, Delhi Rent Control Act and Public Premises Act are being transferred to different civil districts.

Pending civil cases will continue to be tried and heard in the courts already hearing these cases. Institution of civil cases after November 1 will be district-wise.

Work of the criminal court will, however, be distributed in the five district court complexes as under-Central police district, north police district, west police district would be located at Tiz Hazari. New Delhi Police district, south police district, and south-east district cases will be tried at Patiala house, east police district and north-east district shall function at Karkardooma.

North-west police district and outer police district shall function at Rohini. South-west police district, and IGI airport and Palam airport police station will be tried at Dwarka.

Work of the customs, FERA and Directorate of Revenue Intelligence (DRI) shall be dealt at criminal courts at Patiala House.

Special courts dealing with cases under the electricity Act presently functioning at Vakaspuri will function at Dwarka, Malviya Nagar will shiftto Patiala House, Patparganj industrial area to Karkardooma, Shaktikiran building also to Karkardooma. Rohini courts will continue to function in Rohini complex itself.

The notification issued by Tejendra Khanna, Lt Governor of NCT, in consultation with the Delhi High Court, has specified boundaries of the nine civil districts.

Delhi was being headed by one district and session judge. It will now have nine district and sessions judges. They are Mamta Sehgal, ML Mehta, Mr Rakesh Kapoor, IK Kochhar, Gurdeep Kumar, AK Pathak, RK Ydadav, BB Chaudhry and IS Mehta.


Please Wait while comments are loading...