JK: Notification for first phase of Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Oct 24: Jammu and Kashmir Governor N N Vohra on Friday, Oct 24 issued notification for holding elections in ten of the 87 assembly constituencies in the border state in the first phase of the seven- stage poll on November 17.

Mr Vohra, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by clause(b) of Sub-section (b) of section 53 of the constitution of Jammu and Kashmir has dissolved the Legislative Assembly on July 10, after Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad headed Congress coalition government was reduced to minority following the withdrawal of support by the Peoples Democratic party (PDP) on Shri Amarnth Shrine land issue.

The Governor, in exercise of powers vested in him under Jammu and Kashmir Representation of People Act, 1957 and as recommended by the Election Commission of India (ECI), has issued the notification for holding the elections in ten constituencies in the first phase, an official spokesman said here.

The constituencies going to polls on November 17 are Gurez, Sonawari and Bandipora in north Kashmir, Nobra, Leh, Kargil and Zanskar in Ladakh region and Surankote, Mendhar and Poonch-Haveli in Poonch district.

While October 31 will be the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of the papers will be held on November 1 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 3.

The electorate comprises over 4.10 lakh, including 2.53 lakh women who are eligible to elect their representatives to the Assembly.

As many as 1,066 polling stations would be set up in the 10 assembly constituencies.

The ECI, after holding several rounds of talks with the national and local political parties, besides top brass of the security agencies, announced seven-phase poll schedule for Jammu and Kashmir on October 19.


Please Wait while comments are loading...