Sunder Raman appointed CEO of Champions League

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 21 (UNI) Sunder Raman, who is the Chief Operating Officer of the Indian Premier League (IPL), was today appointed as the Chief Executive Officer for the inaugural Champions League Twenty20 which is slated to begin from December 3 this year. The Governing Council of the Champions League also appointed Dhiraj Malhotra as the tournament Director.

The entire management team from across the founding member boards- BCCI, Cricket Australia, Cricket South Africa- was appointed.

Australian Dean Kino, was appointed Director Legal and Business Affairs and Michael Brown, General Manager Cricket Operations and South African Brian Bassson will take care of the Cricket Programming and Logistics.

Other appointments include Radhika Moolraj, Assistant to the Chairman, Poorna Patel, Manager Hospitality, Leila Mallya, Public Relations Manager, Nidhi Chaudhary, Operations Director and Venue Manager, and Preeti Mehta and Russell Adams, both venue managers.

''It gives me great pleasure to make the appointments to these important positions for the Champions League Twenty20. The organisational infrastructure for the Champions League Twenty20 has taken shape,'' Chairman of the Champions League Twenty20 Lailt Modi said while making the announcement.

''They constitute a highly resourceful and talented team and have done a wonderful job managing cricket for the respective boards. I am confident that they will bring to bear all their experience to make the Champions League Twenty20 a huge success,'' he added.

Raman has been working on Champions League ever since IPL inaugural edition concluded. He will take on this responsibility in addition to his role with IPL.

Eight teams, consisting of the reigning winners and runners-up from the domestic Twenty20 competitions in India, Australia and South Africa, plus the reigning Twenty20 champion Sialkot from Pakistan, and the reigning Twenty20 Cup champion from England, Middlesex, have been invited to contest the 2008 Champions Twenty20 League.


Please Wait while comments are loading...