Rashid, Gagan, Saurabh to represent India in Eisenhower Trophy

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 15 (UNI) Rashid Khan, Gagan Verma and Saurabh Bahuguna will represent India in the Eisenhower Trophy which gets underway at the Royal Adelaide Golf Club tomorrow.

The Eisnhower Trophy is the most prestigious Amateur Team Championship event.

The top three players on the LG Amateur Tour Order of Merit have been selected after making it through qualifying rounds held across different courses in the national capital region.

Rashid is the only youngster in the team but he would be buoyed by the two back to back wins on the LG Amateur Tour which includes the LG Golden Greens Amateur and the LG Northern India amateur.

Gagan and Saurabh also have wins in their kitty this season with Saurabh winning the LG Coimbatore Open Amateur and Gagan winning the LG Southern India Amateur.

72 countries will be participating in this biennial event with New Zealand and US starting as favourites.

Danny Lee, the top ranked amateur, will spearhead the New Zealand challenge after coming off a wonderful season in the US where he toppled Tiger Woods as the youngest winner of the US Amateur and also registered a top 20 finish in the recently concluded Wyndham Championship on the PGA Tour.

The team of three players will play 18 holes of stroke play over four days. The team score will be made up by the total of the two lowest scores in each round. The total on each day will be added up to make the four day total and the winner will be determined by the lowest total after four rounds.

The Dutchmen are the defending champions while the United States team has won the championship 13 times ever since it started in the year 1958.


Please Wait while comments are loading...