BJP named its candidates for Council seats

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mangalore, Oct 13(UNI) Bharatiya Janata Party has named its candidates for the October 31 by-elections to three seats to the Karantaka Legislative Council including former minister Shashikanth Akkappa Naik.

Addressing a press conference here today state BJP president D V Sadananda Gowda said that party would field Mr Naik for the Belgaum local bodies seat.

He said that party has also named S P Medappa for Kodagu seat while Mr Shivaraj Sajjan would be the party candidate for the Hubli-Dharwar-Haveri seat. "All the three party candidates would romp home in the elections" he said.

Charging that both JD(S) and Congress party leaders in the state have over reacted to the incidents of attack on Churches in the state while their response to the incidents of terrorism was mild.

Criticising senior Congress leaders from Daxina Kannada district including union minister Oscar Fernandes, AICC spokerperson Veerappa Moily and others for raising hue and cry over the attacks on churches, he said that they were however keeping mum on the incidents of terrorist activities in the state.

He also appreciated for the state government for taking timely action against the violent incidents against Churches and actions initiated against the culprits.

Reacting sharply over the reports of coming together of both Congress and JD(S) in fighting the byelections for eight assembly seats, Mr Gowda termed it as 'opportunistic' alliance. "BJP would win all the eight assembly seats despite coming together of Congress and JD(S)" he said.

The state party will organise a one-day workshop for the media cells elected representatives of BJP on October 15 in Bangalore.

Senior party leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy will inaugurate the two day event in which as many as 200 party members including MLA's and MP's would participate, he said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...