71 nations to take part in Commonwealth games

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Pune, Oct 12: The Commonwealth Youth Games in Pune will be the first where all 71 nations that are entitled to participate will be seen in action in the mega event which are being held at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports City at Balewadi here from October 12-18.

Although there are only 53 Commonwealth countries, a number of British colonies - known as British overseas territories - are allowed to participate, as are the British ''Crown dependencies'' like Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man. In addition to that, the Australian ''external territory'' of Norfolk Islands has send its own team, as also the Cook Islands and Nieu - two of New Zealand's ''external territories''. Also, unlike in the Olympics, where Great Britain is the only team representing the country, it has send four separate teams to the Commonwealth Games - England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland - just as it does in World Cup football and cricket. In contrast to Pune, the inaugural Commonwealth Youth Games - held in Edinburgh, Scotland in 2000 - was attended by only 14 countries.


Please Wait while comments are loading...