Kalmadi hopeful about medal tally surge in 2012 Olympics

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Pune Oct 10 (UNI) Having broken the jinx in the Beijing Olympic Games, India would certainly aspire to enhance the medal tally to double digits in the 2012 London Olympics Games, Suresh Kalmadi, who was unanimously re-elected for the fourth term as president of the Indian Olympic Assdociation (IOA), said today.

Addressing a jam-packed media conference after the AGM and the election, he said concerted efforts would be made to host the world's most sought after sporting extravaganza, the ''Olympics'' in 2020.

''India will be making a strong bid for the 2020 Olympic Games. The 2020 target largely depended upon the success of 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games (CYG), to be followed by the 2010 Commonwealth Games, to be held in New Delhi'', Mr Kalmdi pointed out.

''Keeping in view the 2012 London Games, Indian sportspersons have already set their sights as the Union government has allocated additional grant of Rs 700 crore for their training and foreign exposure from time to time. Since the shooting icon Abhijit Bindra has opened the gate by claiming the first individual gold in the Beijing games, the Indian sportspersons have thus gained the inspiration and will aspire to multiply the medals tally and helped India gain higher standards in the comity of illustrious nations as the Chinese had showed the way'', he said.

Two disciplines, namely Table Tennis and Wrestling has been added along with swimming in the Pune games, which give the country ample opportunity to garner more medals, Mr kalmadi said.

A total of 33 National Federations and 27 State Olympic Associations attended the AGM and the elections.

In a bid to improve the infrastructure for sports in the country, the Ranchi National Games are expected to get underway from December 1.

The 2009 National Games had been alloted to Kerala's kitty, while Goa would be hosting the 2011 national Games, Mr Kalmadi said.

Earlier, the National Games were held at Pune, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Chandigarh, Manipur and Assam and as such sportspersons were provided with the most modern facilities to enhance their performances in the national and international arena of sports, he said.

Following are the office bearers, unanimously elected for the new term of office 2008- 2012.

President: Mr.Suresh Kalmadi (MP) Senior Vice- President: Mr Vijay Kumar Malhotra Vice- Presidents : J S Gehlot, Abhaysingh Chautala, Raj Chopra, Tarlochan Singh, M C Chowhan, Avinash Kohli, K Murugan, G S Mander, Jagdish Tytler, C Ramchandran, B Kalita, and Paresh Mukherjee.

Secretary General : Mr.Randhir Singh Joint Secretaries Dr.Lalit Bhanot, S,M,Bali, Harish Sharma, Ashutosh Sharma, Baljitsingh Sethi, Ms Sunaina Kumari.

Treasurer A K Mattoo.


Please Wait while comments are loading...