ICL announces team composition, captains for its second season

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 6 (UNI) The Indian Cricket League (ICL) today announced the team composition and captains of the respective squads for its second season of ICL 20s challenge, that begins from October 9.

As expected, no changes were made in the list of captains of the nine teams with Habibul Bashar leading an all-Bangladeshi outfit Dhaka Warriors.

The ICL has made some changes in the team composition which comes along with a few strategic player transfers undertaken with the primary objective of optimum utilisation of its player talent pool and strengthening the teams in all departments of the game.

The tournament kicks off on October 10 and will witness strategic transfer of players across the eight existing teams.

The second season will also witness the induction of new players (international and domestic) along with the strong 14 member Dhaka Warriors, strengthening the cricket talent pool in the ICL.

Announcing the team composition, ICL's chairman of executive Board Kapil Dev said, ''The ICL sides have evolved over a period of one year fine tuning their team composition to display enough arsenal in every department of the game.

''In pursuit of the same objective, the ICL Executive Board, in consultation with the team coaches has announced a healthy addition to the talent pool.

Teams and their captains: Ahmedabad Rockets : Damien Martyn, Chandigarh Lions : Chris Cairns, Chennai Superstars : Stuart Law, Delhi Giants : Marvan Atapattu, Dhaka Warriors : Habibul Bashar, Hyderabad Heroes : Chris Harris, Lahore Badshahs : Inzamam-ul-Haq, Mumbai Champs : Nathan Astle, Royal Bengal Tigers : Craig McMillan New players who have been inducted this season at ICL are - Hafiz Khaleel (Lahore Badshahs), Shahid Yousaf (Lahore Badshahs), Tahir Mahmood Mughal (Lahore Badshahs), Ryan Campbell (Ahmedabad Rockets)&Kunal Lal (Ahmedabad Rockets), while players like Mornantau (Nantie) Hayward (from Royal Bengal Tigers) has been transferred to Chennai Superstars and Hasan Raza&Tofeeq Umer (both from Lahore Badhshas) have been transferred to Mumbai Champs team.


Please Wait while comments are loading...