CM presents Konkani Literary awards

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panaji, Oct 1 (UNI) Chief Minister Digmber Kamat presented the prestigious Konkani literary award, instituted by Konkani Bhasha Mandal, on the occasion of its 46th Anniverary celebration, at Margao in South Goa, today.

The recipients of the awards were Tukaram Rama Shet, Prof Arun Sakhardande, Daniel De Souza, Agostinho Barretto, and Ms Gwadalup Dias. The awards were conferred on them for their outstanding contribution in Konkani literature.

Adv Uday Bhembre was awarded Ligorio Furtado trust Puraskar in Konkani Journalism, Mr Kamlakar D Mhalsi was awarded best Konkani teacher. Ms Sulochana Katkar and late Sabostiao Fernandes were awarded Seva Puraskar for their services in social field.

Sabostiao Fernandes was honoured posthumously and his wife received the award.

Speaking on the occasion, Chief Minister lauded the good work done by Konkani Bhasha Mandal since its inception in 1962.

Mandal has not only limited its activites for development of Konkani but has done good work for preservation of its culture, maintaining Goa's identity and in the interest of the state and its people.


Please Wait while comments are loading...