Bowlers restrict Kiwis, India gain 18-run lead

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Sep 29 (UNI) After a disappointing show by the batsmen, India-A bowlers rose to the occasion to restrict New Zealand-A to 230 and help the home team gain an 18 run lead on the second day of the four-day match here today.

Resuming at the overnight score of 36 for no loss, in reply to India's 248, the Kiwis wings were clipped early by medium pacer Amit Mishra who got rid of opener Aaron Redmond 51 (82 balls) after his opening partner Watling ran himself out.

Amit then castled Greg Hay (six) to leave the visitors in a spot of bother at 89 for three.

Skipper Peter Fulton (37) and middle order bat James Marshall 51 (82 balls) added 90 for the fourth wicket in 27.1 overs to put the team on course for the first innings lead.

Once they were separated, the rest of the innings collapsed from 179 for three to 230 all out.

Off spinner Manish Parmar bowled a nagging line to claim three wickets, while medium pacers Tyagi and Ashok Dinda struck in tandem to claim two wickets a piece, to ensure a narrow 18 run lead for India, who scored 27 for one in 14.3 overs in the second essay when bad light ended play.

Scoreboard: India-A (first innings): 248 New Zealand A (first innings): Aaron Redmond c Yusuf Pathan b A Mishra 51 B J Watling (run out) 10 Peter Fulton b Monish Parmar 37 Greg Hay b A Mishra 6 James Marshall lbw Ashok Dinda 51 Neil Broom c Vijay b Monish Parmar 2 Nathan McCullum b Ashok Dinda 0 Reece Young c M Parmar b Tyagi 10 Brent Arnel lbw Tyagi 2 Michael Mason not out 18 Trent Boult c and b Monish Parmar 10 Extras: (b-8, lb-10, nb-14, w-1) 33 Total : (in 83.1 overs) 230 all out Fall of wickets: 1-65, 2-71, 3-89, 4-179, 5-179, 6-179, 7-181, 8-189, 9-202, 10-230.

Bowling: Ashok Dinda 17-3-44-2, S Tyagi 15-2-49-2, Amit Mishra 22-4-61-2, Mohnish Parmar 26.1-7-57-3, Yusuf Pathan 3-2-1-0.

India-A (second innings): S Kukreja batting 15 Shikar Dhawan c Redmond b Trent Boult 7 M Vijay batting 4 Extras: (w-1) 1 Total: (in 14.3 overs) 27 for one wicket Fall of wicets: 1-12.

Bowling: Michael Mason 5-1-9-0, Trent Boult 5-3-6-1, Brent Arnel 2.3-0-4-0, Nathan McCullum 2-0-8-0.


Please Wait while comments are loading...