Q-finalists spotted in Sub Jr National Soccer

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 26 (UNI) West Bengal (Cluster I), Mizoram (Cluster II), Meghalaya (Cluster III), Punjab (Cluster IV), Uttrakhand (Cluster V), Assam (Cluster VI), Delhi (Cluster VII) and Goa (Cluster VIII) qualified for quarter-final league after completion of first phase of the 31st Sub-Junior National Football Championship-2008 for Mir Iqbal Hussain Trophy in Mahilpur today.

West Bengal, Uttrakhand, Assam and Delhi have been placed in Group A quarter-final league. Mizoram, hosts Punjab, Meghalaya and Delhi are in Group B quater-final league.

Cluster A winners West Bengal will meet Cluster V leaders Uttrakhand and Cluster VI champions Assam will face Cluster VIII leaders Goa in Group A quarter-final league matches to be played tomorrow.

Mizoram today defeated Madhya Pradesh by 2-0 to qualify for quarter-final from Cluster II. Lalnun Mawia and Lalmun Puia scored in the 65th and 86th minutes. Gaurav Yadav of Madhya Pradesh was given cautioned by referee G Murthy for foul play in the seventh minute.

In an inconsequential match Uttar Pradesh defeated Chattisgarh by 7-0. Scorers were: Himanshu Gupta (36th, 41st minutes), Krishna Kumar (47th ,87th) and Piyush Roy (53rd, 76th and 81st).


Please Wait while comments are loading...