Eight Young scientists awarded

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sep 26 (UNI) Two Delhi-based researchers were among eight scientists presented the CSIR young scientists awards 2008 today.

On the foundation day of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Science and Technology Minister Kapil Sibal also gave away the CSIR Diamond Jubilee Invention Award 2007 for school children.

Shikhar Bhandari, a class XI student of B V B Mehta Vidyalaya, K.G. Marg, New Delhi and Neha Lalit Sharma, a class X student of Fr Agnel Multipurpose School, Vashi, Navi Mumbai received the Award.

Shikhar has invented modified two wheeler useful as electrical generator, water pump, air compressor and crop threshing unit, while Neha's invention relates to herbal formulation to control Brown dog tick.

The young scientists awarded were: -- Dr Beena Pillai of the Institute of Genomics&Integrative Biology, Delhi, in Biological Sciences.

-- The award in Chemical Sciences has been given to Dr Subhash Ghosh of Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, and Dr Melepurath Deepa of the National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi in Chemical Sciences.

-- Dr Sinai Khandeparker Lidita Dilip of the National Institute of Oceanography, Goa and Dr Simanchal Padhy of the National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad, in Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences.

-- Dr Ranjan Kumar Sahu of the National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur and Dr Satyajit Vishnu Shukla of the National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram, in Engineering Sciences.

-- Dr Pankaj Poddar of the National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, in Physical Sciences.


Please Wait while comments are loading...