Assam pip Manipur and Karnataka to qualify

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 25: Assam pipped Manipur and Karnataka on better goal difference in a three-way tie and qualified for Group A quarter-final leage of the 31st Sub-Junior National Football Championship-2008 for Mir Iqbal Hussain Trophy in Mahilpur here today.

These teams have two victories and one defeat each and secured six points apiece. After calculations, Assam had scored 13 goals and conceded five (+8) while Manipur with 10 goals in favour and six against had +4. Karnataka scored 11 goals and conceded eight (+3) to finish third.

Manipur defeated Karnataka by 7-2 in the last Cluster VI match and Assam blasted Chandigarh by 9-1 to improve their goal difference.

In a one-sided match, Assam went all out against Chandigarh. The Assam trio of Hitler Borgoyary, Holi Charan and Rabi Rani teased and tormented the Chandigarh defence to score goals at will. Hitler pumped in goals in the 47th, 48th, 55th and 78 minutes, including hat-trick.

Holi Charan netted in the 76th, 83rd and 90th minutes. Rabi Rani's brace came in the 81st and 88th minute. L Lamba Loumbang scored the consolation goal for Chandigarh who lost all their three matches in the cluster competitions.

In another ground, in their quest to qualify for quarter-final league, Manipur outplayed Karnataka by 7-2. However, their brave efforts proved abortive as Assam qualified on better goal difference.

Striker Bony Singh spearheaded their attack and fired four goals in the 15th, 41st, 55th and 72nd minute. However, he failed to perform three-in-a-row feat. Stephen (43rd), Tyson Maibom (48) and Imran Khan (75) contributed one goal each for the winners. Deepak (26th) and Darvin (77th) reduced the margin for Karnataka.

Uttrakhand also qualified for Group A quarter-final league from cluster V. With Jammu and Kashmir withdrawing from the tournament, only Uttrakhand and Jharkhand were left in Cluster V. They had to play each other twice. In their first match Uttrakhand had beaten Jharkhand and today Jharkhand scored their revenge victory by 1-0 with Vickal Samad scoring the match-winner in the 60th minute.

With one win each, the stalement was broken with the draw of slip and Uttrakhand proved lucky.


Please Wait while comments are loading...