Rajasthan beat LIC by six wickets

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

CHANDIGARH, SEPT 21 (UNI) Rajasthan defeated LIC XI by six wickets with one ball to spare in the 15th All India J. P. Atray Cricket Tournament at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali today. The match was reduced to 28 overs due to rain.

RCA after winning the toss opted to field. LIC opened with Saurav Ganguly and Haryana Ranji Trophy player Sunny Singh. They lost the first wicket on 29 when Sunny Singh was caught plumb in front of the wicket by Arif for 15, inclusive of 3 fours.

Saurav Ganguly was then joined by Tahir Abbas and both carried the total to 54 when Abbas was bowled by medium pacer Afroz for 15.

Afroz was then instrumental in the dismissal of Saurav Ganguly as former Indian skipper failed to clear the mid off as he stepped out to drive right arm pacer Ravikant Dhillon and was caught by Afroz thus ending Saurav's 67 minutes in 39 balls vigil at the crease in which he scored 20 runs inclusive of two boundaries.

Saurav's exit brought southpaw Shivkant Shukla and Abhir Lavasa to the crease and the two together stitched a fourth wicket partnership of 92 runs in 12.4 overs before Shivkant Shukla went for a mighty heave but was brilliantly caught by Dhillon at long on of the bowling of Kishan for an aggressive of 43 of 38 balls with the help of 2x4s and a towering six. Abhir Lavasa in the meanwhile was in a murderous mood and hoisted the Rajasthan bowlers for three huge sixes while remaining unbeaten with 50 in 44 balls. LIC's innings closed at 156 for 4 in 28 overs.

Replying, Rajasthan lost their opener Rohit Sharma at a score of 15 while the other opener southpaw Tanuj Sharma in the company of another southpaw Naresh Gehlot were involved in a 35- run partnership for the second wicket before Gehlot was caught at long off by the substitute fielder of the bowling of Rajesh Patha for 20.

Meanwhile Tanuj and Bhaivbhat Deshpande took the score to 106 before Deshpandey was trapped by Ranadeb Bose for 33 of 35 balls.

Tanuj Sharma was then joined by Artit Gupta before Artit was caught by Saurav to at long off of the bowling of left arm spinner Bablu Kumar for 22 on the first ball of the last over of the innings.

Rajasthan gained four points.

Brief scores: LIC 156 for 4 in 28 overs (Abhir Lavasa 50, Shivkant Shukla 43, Saurav Ganguly 20).

Rajasthan: 157 for 4 (Tanuj Sharma 57, Bhaivab Pandey 33). Man of the match: Tanuj Sharma.

At the Sector 16 Cricket Stadium, Chandigarh, BPCL defeated HPCA by 25 runs and gathered four points.

After being put in to bat BPCL scored 168 for 2 in 23 overs. They were well served by their skipper Vinayak Mane (44, 4x4s). The other main contributor was Vineet Indulkar (77 not out, 54 balls, 9x4s, 2x6s). He was involved in a second wicket unbroken stand of 84 runs with Onkar Khanilkar (26).

In reply HPCA could score 143 for 5 in the allotted 23 overs.

Sangram Singh made a swashbuckling 51 of 56 balls with the help of 1x4 and 2x6 while Kiran Adhab 3 for 31 was the main wicket taker for BPCL. Vineet Indulkar was declared as the Man of the Match.

At DAV School, Sector-8, Chandigarh MRF edged out Moody ICL by six runs in an exciting match. ICL won the toss and put MRF to bat.

They scored 164 for 8 in 30 overs. Sambha Siva Sharma (38, 3x4s, Venogopal Rao (30, 4x4s) were involved in a third wicket stand of 45 runs.

RMP Vikash Chauhan (3 for 33) and left arm spinner Rohit (2 for 35) were main wicket takers for Moody ICL.

Replying Moody ICL who were at one stage 137 for 2 soon slumped to 158 for 6 and lost the match by 6 runs. MRF got 4 points. Rajinder Bisht (42, 7x4s, 1x6). Michel and Vishal (26) were associated in an opening stand of 72 runs.

Pankaj Joshi (37) and Nitin Saini (28) were other notable contributors. Nyas ( 3 for 27) was the main wicket taker for MRF and he was declared man of the match.


Please Wait while comments are loading...