Randhawa takes control after round three of DLF Masters

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Gurgaon, Sep 20 (UNI) Ace golfer Jyoti Randhawa emerged as the leader at the Professional Golf Tour of India's DLF Masters 2008 after he shot three under 69 in the third round of the tournament today.

Randhawa's total now stands at seven under 209. He is two strokes ahead of Gaganjeet Bhullar and Shamim Khan. Arjun Singh ended the day in fourth at three under 213.

Randhawa (72, 68, 69), who was overnight second as he trailed Bhullar by one stroke, shot into the lead on the third day despite a shaky start.

He dropped a couple of strokes after making bogeys on the first and fourth. However, he fought back with a birdie on the sixth and eagle-birdie-birdie on the ninth, 10th, 11th.

The reigning Indian Open champion then made pars all the way till the 18th.

''I didn't play as well as yesterday but still managed a round of three under. I think I was not focusing well at the start of my round but then seemed to get my focus back from the sixth hole onwards,'' Randhawa said.

''I guess it's better to manage a bad round than fall on a good one. A two-shot lead is a good cushion heading into the final round,'' he added.

Shamim Khan (72, 70, 69) also shot 69 to record the best round of the day along with Randhawa. He finished the day in tied second place along with Gaganjeet Bhullar at five under 211.

Shamim made birdies on the second, sixth, eighth, ninth, 15th, 18th and dropped bogeys on the seventh, 12th and 13th.

Gaganjeet Bhullar (67, 72, 72) fired his second consecutive 72 to end the day in tied second. Bhullar birdied the sixth, 10th, 18th, made bogey on the 13th and double bogeyed the 17th.

Arjun Singh (71, 72, 70) is fourth at the moment. He has a total of three under 213.

Mukesh Kumar (72, 72, 70) is a further stroke behind in fifth while Ashok Kumar (72, 73, 70) is sixth at one under 215.

Gaurav Ghei, who was tied 13th at two over 146 after two rounds, withdrew from the tournament ahead of round three due to personal reasons.

In the team championship, Arjun Singh (professional), Shamim Khan (professional) and Anuj Sood's (amateur) team emerged victorious with a net score of 132. The team comprising of Shankar Das (professional), Shahid Javed Khan (professional) and Gaurav Seth (amateur) came in second with a net score of 136.


Please Wait while comments are loading...