Australian cricket team to arrive in India on September 22

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Sep 20 (UNI) The Australian cricket team will be arriving at Jaipur on Monday, September 22 to play a four Test series.

The Aussies will be arriving in the afternoon at 1400 hrs at Jaipur, where they are expected to play a few warm up games and get acclimitised to the conditions before the first Test which begins in Bangalore on October 9, BCCI, CAO, Prof Ratnakar Shetty told UNI here today.

The Australians will also play a four-day game in Hyderabad before the first Test.

The tour of India was early put in jeopardy after 20 people were killed in the serial blasts in Delhi, the venue of the third Test.

Cricket Australia confirmed the tour after a review was carried out following the terrorist attacks, receiving input from the Australian government's department of foreign affairs as well as conducting their own independent assessment.

''We have done a review of our security advice and it has not changed since the bomb blasts,'' Cricket Australia's public affairs manager Peter Young had stated, adding that ''the safety and security advice for India is, broadly speaking, to exercise caution.'' Young had also stated that the security will be upgraded for the team.

Cricket Australia had also dismissed criticism by the Pakistani board over going ahead with the India tour, stating that in very broad terms the advice we have is in sharp contrast to what we had for Pakistan, which was that it was not safe to travel, in Pakistan, because the attacks there were targeting westerners. The problems in India are completely different in intensity and of a different nature.

Australian squad: Ricky Ponting (c), Doug Bollinger, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Simon Katich, Jason Krejza, Bryce McGain, Peter Siddle, Shane Watson.

The itinerary: September 27-28: vs RCA's Centre of Excellence in Jaipur.

October 2-5: Warm up match in Hyderabad.

October 9-13: 1st Test at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

October 17-21: 2nd Test at Mohali, Chandigarh.

October 29-November 2: 3rd Test at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi November 6-10: 4th Test at VCA Ground, Nagpur.


Please Wait while comments are loading...