Centre's spl wheat allocation for N-E for festive season

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sep 18 (UNI) In a bid to check inflation in food economy during the festive season, the Centre has decided to give 30,000 tonnes of wheat to Assam at Rs 1132 per quintal.

Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Tripura will get 10,000 tonnes each at Rs 1148, Rs 1142, Rs 1239 per quintal respectively.

Manipur will get 5000 tonnes of wheat at the rate of Rs 1276 per quintal.

Meghalaya, Mizoram and Sikkim will get 5,000 tonnes each at Rs 1177, Rs 1221 and Rs 1162 per quintal respectively.

According to official sources, Union Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution decided to release wheat under the Open Market Sale Scheme (Domestic) [OMSS (D)] to State and Union Territory Governments during the months of September and October, 2008 for distribution to retail consumers in order to check inflationary trends.

The decision to this effect was taken by a high-level committee of the Food Corporation of India which fixed the rates along with the state-wise allocation.

Sources from the Ministry said that State and Union Territory Governments should lift the allocated quantity of wheat from the godowns of FCI and distribute it to retail consumers through their own Corporations, cooperatives, federations, self-help groups or any other Government or Semi-Government organisations. The respective Government may also use this wheat for various educational institutions, SC/ST/women and hostels.

It has to be ensured that wheat released under OMSS was not sold to bulk consumers like roller flour mills, large processors of wheat. Separate guidelines for sale of wheat to bulk consumers were under consideration of the Government and would be issued shortly, sources added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...