40 tennis players shortlisted for Commonwealth Games

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sep 18 (UNI) Veterans Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi have been included along with Sania Mirza in a list of 40 tennis players who will be provided state-of-the-art training and exposure by the Sports Ministry in view of the 2010 Comoonwealth Games.

They have been included in the ''Core Group'' of sportspersons from various disciplines who will represent the country at the Commonwealth Games. In addition, seven coaches, including a foreigner, have also been identified by the Ministry in consultations with the All India Tennis Association (AITA).

The Steering Committee constituted by the government under the Scheme ''Preparation of Indian Teams for Commonwealth Games 2010'', has also directed the AITA to submit without delay the names of supporting personnel such as sports analyst, doctor, physical trainer, masseur and masseuse for its approval.

As required under the Scheme, the Steering Committee has also directed the AITA to prepare the Annual Calendar of Training and Competitions (ACTC) in consultation with the Sports Authority of India (SAI) for imparting training of 305 days in a year for the period from August 2008 to March 31 next year.

During the meeting, the AITA informed the Committee that DLTA Grounds, Delhi - Main Centre and National Academy, Lawn Tennis Association, Gurgaon have been identified as centres for imparting training to the Core Group of sportspersons. For providing infrastructural and equipment support, the Committee has asked the Sports Authority of India (SAI) to examine the requirements of the AITA and submit a consolidated proposal to it for approval.

For effective assessment and reviewing of the performance of the players and coaches at regular intervals, the Committee has asked the AITA to design a format in consultation with Chief National Coach indicating various parameters.

With an objective to enhance transparency and placing all information relating to the Scheme in public domain, the Committee has also emphasized the AITA, the need to develop a comprehensive website which should inter-alia contain the names, profiles of players, compilation of various facilities for the sports available country-wide (indicating levels of such facilities and under whose control/jurisdiction) and also names, profiles, levels of coaches, supporting personnel of the sport available, sports equipment necessary for that sport, list of suppliers in India and abroad, training facilities available overseas, list of major competitions and tournaments in India and abroad, details of the National Federation (with names of office bearer and their telephone numbers etc), International Federation etc. The Committee directed the AITA to start the website within two months and communicate to it.

The players who were included in the list are: Men: Leander Paes, Mahesh Bhupathi, Prakash Amritraj, Rohan Bopanna, Somdev Devvarman, Harsh Mankad, Ashutosh Singh, Vishnu Vardhan, Karan Rastogi, Vivek Shokeen, Sunil Kumar Sipaeya, Divij Sharan, Prajnesh Gunneswaran, Yuki Bhambri, Sitaram Sudanwa, Akash Wagh, Vijayant Malik, Karanuday Singh, Ronak Manuja, Saurabh Singh.

Women: Sania Mirza, Sunitha Rao, Isha Lakhani, Rushmi Chakravarthi, Tara Iyer, Ankita Bhambri, Sanaa Bhambri, Sandhya Nagraj, Prerna Appineni, Parul Goswami, Shikha Oberoi, Poojashree Venkatesh, Rushmi Teltumbde, Tanvi Shah, Kelsey Sundaram, Soniya Dayal, Kyra Shroff, Ankita Raina, Sweta C Rana, Rishika Sunkara.

Coaches: Vishal Uppal (national coach), Arun Kumar, Kawaljit Singh, Nar Singh, Sukhbir Singh, Shalini Thakur, Foreigh coach: Dough MacCurdy (US) UNI AB RL KP1452

Please Wait while comments are loading...