4 surrender for burning BSP MP in effigy

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Basti, Sep 17 (UNI) Four accused of setting afire an effigy of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MP Lalmani Prasad over the controversial ''Teesri Azaadi'' CD, today surrended before a local court.

According to Government counsel Rajendra Shankar Dwivedi, those who surrendered included Diwakar Mishra, Pushkar Mishra, Abhaypal and Shyam Mani tripathi -- all of them belonging to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha.

Lalmani Prasad's son-in-law had lodged an FIR against them after they burnt the MP effigy, while agitating over the CD, in front of his house on March 12 this year.

The Chief Judicial Magistrate court, where they reportedly surrendered, dismissed the bail application of the accused and sent them to jail.

On March 11, the police had recovered the ''Teesri Azaadi'' named CD from Baudh Vihar here.


Please Wait while comments are loading...