Bangladesh players set to join ICL - report

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Dhaka, Sep 14 (UNI) A minimum of 14 leading players from Bangladesh, including former captain Habibul Bashar, are set to sign a contract with the rebel Indian Cricket League (ICL), according to a local media report today.

Bashar, Mohammad Rafique, Alok Kapali, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Nazim Uddin, Farhad Reza and Dhiman Ghosh are among the players who will join the ICL this week, reported the Dhaka-based Bengali national daily 'Prothom Alo'.

The 36-year-old Bashar confirmed that he is in discussion with the ICL but is yet to sign a contract.

''Yes, I have got a proposal from the ICL and things are being worked out. I can say only about myself and nothing has yet been finalised,'' he said.

Bashar has led Bangladesh to their maiden Test win and to 29 one-day international victories becoming the country's most successful captain.

With 3026 runs, Bashar is Bangladesh's leading Test run scorer.

Among the players, seven are currently contracted with the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

Chairman of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) operations committee, Gazi Ashraf Hossain later confirmed that he did receive letters from six of the contracted players, including Bashar.

''We are closely following the procedures and examining the contents of the letters. The Board hold an emergency meeting today to decide its next course of action,'' Hossain said.

Apart from Karim and Mabud, all the players have represented Bangladesh in Tests or one-day internationals.

Kapali, Reza and Dhiman were in the Bangladesh squad that played a three-match one-day series against Australia earlier this month.

The newspaper said the Bangladesh players would all be in the same team named the Dhaka Warriors.

ICL which has not been sanctioned by the BCCI has already drawn a lot of attention with some of the top international players taking a plunge into it at the cost of international cricket.

Players participating in the league have been banned from playing international cricket by their respective national Boards.


Please Wait while comments are loading...