BJP constitutes 18-member election committee in Rajasthan

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Sep 12 (UNI) The ruling Bharatiya Janta Party(BJP) has constituted a 18-member party state election committee under the chairmanship of state president and sitting MP Om Prakash Mathur, for smooth conduction of election affairs, including selection of candidates for the next Assembly elections, to be held by November.

Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, senior party leader and National Treasurer Ramdas Agrawal, Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria, dissident leaders like Law Minister Ghanshyam Tiwari and former state president and sitting MP Raghubir Singh Kaushal, state general secretary and RSS strongman Prakash Chand are prominent among the committee members.

Former Speaker Samarath Lal Meena, sitting MPs VP Singh and Subhash Maheria, state ministers Rajendra Rathore, Nathu Singh Gurjar and Surendra Goyal, BJP Mahila Morcha state president Suman Sharma, party functionaries SN Gupta, Srikishan Songara, Madan Lal Saini and Rampal Jat have also been inducted in the committee.

The committee has a good combination of Ms Raje's loyalists and others who do symbolise as her detractors within the party.

However, leaders like former state president and sitting MP Lalit Kishore Chaturvedi and party sitting MP and former Home Minister Kailash Meghwal, known critics of Raje, could not get berths in the committee.


Please Wait while comments are loading...