KOA to honour Olympians Vijender, Sushil on Sep 11

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Sep 9 (UNI) Karnataka Olympic Association (KOA) will honour Vijender Singh and Sushil Kumar, who brought glory to the country by winning bronze medals in boxing and wrestling respectively, in the recently-concluded Beijing Olympics.

The Olympians would be felicitated during the KOA award distribution function on September 11, Association President K Govindraj told mediapersons here today.

The cash prize and the way of honouring Vijender and Sushil, who have confirmed their participation in the award presentation ceremony would be disclosed on the day of the function, he informed.

Govindraj said 22 sports personalities, including ace shuttler and former national badminton coach Vimal Kumar, sports journalist and a press photographer have been selected for this year's KOA award which carries Rs 10,000 cash and citation.

He said KOA would be extending financial assistance of Rs 25,000 to Sports Associations, affiliated to KOA for conducting national championships.

The KOA awardees this year are: G M Aishwarya (athletics), Aditya R Prakash (badminton), Sonam Deep Kaur (baskeball), Lakkappa B Kurani (cycling), N Geetha (fencing), B Prakash (football), V S Vinaya, G M Hari Prasad, T S Kaveramma (Hockey), J Harish (kabaddi), C R Santhosh (kho-kho), M P Shashikiran (rifle shooting), V Thejaswini, N A Sandeep (both swimming), B Thejaswini (taekwondo), Suma M Hegde (volleyball), M Chandrappa Kurani (cycling coach), H K Vishwanath (sports journalist), Philip Nathan Samson Victor (press photographer), Kenneth Powell (former Olympian-athletics), Ahmed Khan (ex-Olympian-football) and U Vimal Kumar (former Olympian-badminton).


Please Wait while comments are loading...