Second edition of Champions League T20 in Sept-Oct 2009

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Sep 8 (UNI) The second edition of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament will be held from September 25 to October 10, 2009.

This announcement was made jointly by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Cricket Australia (CA), and Cricket South Africa (CSA) today.

The three founding member boards had already announced the dates for the inaugural edition of the 2008 Champions League Twenty20 from December 3 to 10, 2008.

The 2009 edition of the Champions League Twenty20 will feature 12 teams and will see 23 matches. It is scheduled during the prime Indian festive season.

Venues and commercial partnership details of the inaugural edition of the Champions League Twenty20 will be finalised in the near future, a statement issued by the three boards stated.

Eight teams, consisting of the reigning winners and runners-up from the domestic Twenty20 competitions in India, Australia and South Africa, plus the winners of 2008 Twenty20 championships (to be held in October 2008) from Pakistan, and the reigning Twenty20 Cup champion from England, Middlesex, have been invited to contest the 2008 Champions League Twenty20.

The inaugural contest was announced on July 30 this year, offering teams six million dollar of prize money, the biggest prize money in world cricket for cricket at a domestic level competition.

The prize money, including three million dollar for the winning team, will be shared between the teams and their players.

The Governing Council of the event together with its founding cricket boards believe the significant prize money to be shared by teams and players will ensure that the benefits of the event will foster cricket's development by injecting new funding into domestic-level cricket, the statement added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...