Cong-led NSUI wins 3 out of four seats, ABVP takes the Prez post

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sept 6 (UNI) Breaking years of monopoly of the National Students Union of India (NSUI), the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) today bagged the President's post in the Delhi University Students' Union polls, even as the other top three posts went to its main rival NSUI.

While Nupur Sharma of the ABVP, BJP's student wing, took the top post, NSUI's Manohar Naagar was chosen vice-president, Amit Chaudhary General Secretary and Ashish Gehlot Joint Secretary, defeating their ABVP rivals, according to poll officials of the University.

Nupur Sharma defeated her rival Sonia Sapra of the NSUI by a hefty margin of nearly 2,000 votes, securing 10,345 votes against her rival's 8,606.

On the other hand, Naagar polled 8,804 votes against his rival Vasu Rukhar's 7,956, even as Chaudhary defeated Anupriya Yadav by 664 votes and Gehlot defeated his rival by about 4,000 votes.

The NSUI had been winning the university polls for the last five years in succession, where last year it made a clean sweep winning all the top four posts.

Celebrations marked the declaration of the results, in both the camps, with each claiming 'major victory'. While the ABVP called its victory a moral one, against the ''unruly reign'' of its arch rival, the NSUI said its victory on three positions showed that its policies were on the right track.

The polls, which were held yesterday in the north campus of the Delhi University and its affiliated colleges, saw a merely 40 per cent voter turn out -- one of the lowest in the recent years -- with merely 30,000 exercising their franchise from a total of nearly 80,000 voters.


Please Wait while comments are loading...