4 MLAs resign from Samajwadi Party

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhopal, Sep 6 (UNI) In a major political development, four Samajwadi Party MLAs from Madhya Pradesh have resigned from the party accusing the party leadership of ignoring them.

SP MLAs Arjun Palia (Pipariya), Vanshmani Prasad Verma (Singhroli), Vikram Singh Natiraja (Chhatarpur) and K K Singh (Gopadbanas) sent their resignations to party president Mulayam Singh Yadav and state party chief Narayan Tripathi this afternoon.

Talking to UNI here, Mr Palia alleged that the SP leadership was neither consulting nor entrusting them with any major responsibility though they were sincerely working for the party.

Mr Palia did not deny the rumours of their the joining Congress and admitted that he had met party state incharge and Congress General Secretary V Narayanswami few times.

About his future plans, Mr Palia said that the next step would be disclosed shortly.

There are a total of eight SP members in the 231 member Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.

Meanwhile, Congress sources said that party chief Sonia Gandhi would take a final decision on granting party membership to the four MLAs as the SP had recently extended its support to the UPA government in the wake of the Left Parties withdrawing support on the Indo-US nuclear deal.


Please Wait while comments are loading...