Chronology of Chief Ministers of Puducherry

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Puducherry, Sep 4 (UNI) Following are the names of Chief Ministers of Puducherry, after the Representatives House was converted into Legislative Assembly in 1963.

Mr Edward Goubert was sworn in as the first Chief Minister of the Union Territory on July one, 1963 and held the office till August 24,1964.

Mr Venkatasubbareddiyar (August 29,1964 to September 18, 1968) Mr M O H Farook (March 17,1969 to January 31, 1974) Mr S Ramaswami (March 6,1974 to March 28,1974 and again from July 2,1977 to November 12, 1978) Mr D Ramachandran (January 16,1980 to June 24, 1983) Mr M O H Farook (March 16,1985 to March 5,1990) Mr D Ramachandran (March 5,1990 to March 4 1991) Mr V Vaithilingam (July 4 1991 to April 26,1996) Mr R V Janakiraman (May 27,1996 to March 18,2000) Mr P Shanmugham (March 22,2000 to May 16,2001 and again from May 24, 2001 to October 19 2001) Mr N Rangasamy (October 27,2001 to May 3,2006 and again from May 18 2006 to August 28, 2008).

Mr V Vaithilingam sworn-in as the 15th Chief Minister today.


Please Wait while comments are loading...