9 J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Sep 3 (UNI) The Jammu and Kashmir Academy, Art, Culture and Languages has chosen one writer each of nine languages, spoken in Jammu and Kashmir, for the Lifetime Achievement Awards for the year 2008.

The formal orders were issued today after the approval of Governor N N Vohra, Secretary of the Academy, Zafar Iqbal Khan Manhas said here.

The Award carries a cash prize of Rs 51,000, a memento, citation and a shawl, Zaffar said.

The awardees included Bimla Raina (Kashmiri), Mohan Singh (Dogri) Babu Noor Mohammad Noor (Gogri), Raja Shahid Shujatt (Pahari), Dr Shafaq Sopori (Urdu), Anila Charak (Hindi), S Saran Singh (Punjabi), Tsewang Rigzin (Ladakhi) and Dr K L Choudhary (English).


Please Wait while comments are loading...