Soren allocates portfolios to his council of ministers

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Sep 2 (UNI) New Jharkhand Chief Minister Shibu Soren today allocated portfolios among his council of ministers comprising eleven people who were sworn in on August 27.

Ten of the ministers who were in the erstwhile Madhu Koda-led UPA government retained same departments except for Ms Aparna Sengupta (FB)who became minister for the first time in the Soren government in Jharkhand.

Ms Sengupta was given Science&Technology and Water and Sanitation department earlier held by Chandraprakash Choudhary (AJSU) who did not support the present government during the floor test held on August 29.

According to a Rajbhavan communique, the Chief Minister retained the Personnal, Administrative Reforms and Rajbhasha, Planning and Development, Power, Road Construction, Mines&Geology, Information and Public Relation and departments not distributed to any other.

Deputy CM Stephen Marandi would hold the charge of Finance, Commercial Taxes and Parliamentary Affairs while another Deputy CM Sudhir Mahto would be looking after Industry, Forest and Environment department.

Mr Kamlesh Kumar Singh has been made incharge of Water Resources, Food, Public Distribution&Consumer Affairs and Excise department.

Mr Anos Ekka was given the charge of Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, NREP, Transport and Building Construction department while Harinarayan Rai will hold the charge of Urban Development, Rural Work and Tourism.

Besides, Welfare, Social Welfare and House department was given to Ms Joba Manjhi while Nalin Soren would hold the charge of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries.

Similarly, Bandhu Tirkley was made Human Development Resources Minister and would also take charge of Art&Culture and Sports&Youths Affairs.

Mr Dulal Bhuyian would hold the charge of Land&Revenue and Cooperative department and Health department was given to Bhanu Pratap Shahi besides, Labour department.

On August 25, Mr Soren staked claim to form the government and submitted a list of 42 MLAs to the Governor, after receiving support of all the Independent MLAs who had earlier been standing united with Mr Koda.

Mr Soren was administered oath of office on August 27, which ended days of political drama that began with the withdrawal of support by the JMM to the Madhu Koda government on August 17 and finally forced the Chief Minister to resign on August 23.


Please Wait while comments are loading...